Breaking Ground: Charting Our Future in a Pandemic Year

Sale price $26.25 Regular price $35.00

As a pandemic and racial reckoning exposed society's faults, Christian thinkers were laying the groundwork for a better future.


A public health and economic crisis provoked by Covid-19. A social crisis cracked open by the filmed murder of George Floyd. A leadership crisis laid bare as the gravity of a global pandemic met a country suffocating in political polarization and idolatry. In the spring of 2020 Comment and Plough magazines created a joint publishing project that would tap the resources of the Christian humanist tradition to respond collaboratively and imaginatively to these crises. This volume, written in real time during a year that revealed the depths of our society's fissures, provides a wealth of proposals and reflections on what should come after: how we can truly renew our civilization.


Breaking Ground has grown into a network of institutions and people that will continue to respond to these ongoing challenges with a deeply Christian and human vision for the future.


Contributors include Anthony Barr, Marilynne Robinson, N. T. Wright, Adam Carrington, Gregory Thompson, Shadi Hamid, Rachel Anderson, John Clair, Christine Emba, Jennifer Frey, Michael Wear, David Grubbs, John Milbank, Mark Noll, Michael Lamb, Joe Nail, Charles Camosy, Dante Stewart, Katherine Boyle, Duke Kwon, Gracy Olmstead, Phil Christman, Brad Littlejohn, Brandon Mcginley, Oliver O Donovan, Amy Julia Becker, Chris Lambert, Benya Kraus, Carlo Lancellotti, Luke Bretherton, Jake Meador, Jeffrey Bilbro, Mark Gerzon, Cherie Harder, Susannah Black, Joe Boland, Patrick Pierson, Samuel Kimbriel, Kurt Armstrong, Patrick Tomassi, Chris Lambert, Stuart Mcalpine, Elayne Allen, Mack Mccarter, Father Jack Wall, Myles Werntz, Tobias Cremer, Doug Sikkema, E. J. Hutchinson, J. L. Wall, Joel Halldorf, Aryana Petrosky Roberts, Chelsea Langston Bambino, Dhananjay Jagannathan, Dwan Dandridge, Erin And David Leaverton, Heather C. O'Haneson, Irena Dragas Jansen, James Matthew Wilson, Joseph M Keegin, Joshua Bambino, and L. M. Sacasas.